ORLANDO, FL – April 30, 2013 – Today, the Food Marketing Institute (FMI) honored four grand prize winners at its 13th annual Store Manager Award presentation at FMI’s professional development conference, Future Connect. The winners were selected among 10 category finalists. They are recognized for their work in store operations, leadership, and community involvement. 

“The outstanding pool of store manager nominations showcases the diversity and passion of food retail managers,” said Leslie G. Sarasin, president and CEO of FMI. “In an industry that caters to the unique needs of the customer, nothing is more important than strong, nimble leaders who champion innovation within their stores and support local community concerns.”

The four winners are as follows: 
Category A (1-49 Stores): Maggie McLaughlin, Roche Bros., Wellesley, MA
Category B (50-199 Stores): Fernando Noriega, United Supermarkets, LLC, Amarillo, TX
Category C (Over 200 Stores): Greg Giles, BI-LO, LLC, Simpsonville, SC
Category D (International): Jun Oshima, Yaoko Co., Ltd., Saitama, Japan 

The 10 finalists each received two complimentary registrations for Future Connect and three nights of hotel accommodations in Orlando, Fla. The four grand prize winners each received a $1,000 prize and a crystal award during a ceremony recognizing their achievements. 

The winners will join the ranks of the 2012 grand prize winners: Mike Jacob, ShopRite of Hunterdon County, Flemington, NJ; Lee Lucero, King Soopers, Denver, CO; Ted Boyd, BI-LO, LLC., Greenwood, SC. 

For Media: 
Finalist Profiles and Photo Gallery
Future Connect Program Details