DALLAS, TX – May 1, 2012 – Today, the Food Marketing Institute (FMI) announced the 12th annual Store Manager Award Grand Prize Winners at FMI2012. The three winners were chosen from nine category finalists recognized for their work in innovative store operations, leadership and community involvement.

“Each year, FMI receives inspirational stories submitted by supervisors celebrating their most successful store managers,” said Leslie G. Sarasin, president and CEO of FMI. “This award is a way to underscore the originality, creativity and personal impact our retailers have within their stores and among their communities.”

The three winners among the three categories by store size are as follows:

  • Category A: Mike Jacob, ShopRite of Hunterdon County, Flemington, NJ
  • Category B: Lee Lucero, King Soopers, Denver, CO
  • Category C: Ted Boyd, Bi-Lo LLC, Greenwood, SC

The nine finalists received two complimentary registrations to FMI2012, hotel accommodations in Dallas and a crystal award to commemorate their efforts. The grand prize winners each were presented a $1,000 check during an award ceremony by Sarasin and FMI Chairman and President and CEO of Harris Teeter, Fred Morganthall.

The winners will join the ranks of the 2011 grand prize winners Shawn Commons, PriceRite Supermarket, Reading, PA; Allan Bussey, Brookshire Grocery Co., Tyler, TX; and Kristi Masterson, Hy-Vee, Sioux Falls, SD.

For Media:
Visit FMI2012.com for profiles of the three Grand Prize Winners and six other finalists here.