CHICAGO, IL — May 5, 2007 — Food Marketing Institute (FMI) announced the reelection of 26 directors and the election of 11 directors to the FMI Board of Directors. FMI also announced the election of a chair and four vice chairs to its Board.

Elected and reelected directors are Joseph Azzolina, Sr., president of Food Circus Supermarkets, Inc., Middletown, NJ; Robert W. Baesler, president of Baesler’s Market, Terre Haute, IN; Rob Bartels, president and CEO of Martin’s Super Markets, Inc., South Bend, IN; Pierre-Olivier Beckers, president and CEO of the Delhaize Group, Brussels, Belgium; Michael A. Bozzuto, chairman, president and CEO of Bozzuto’s, Inc., Cheshire, CT; J.H. "Jay" Campbell, Jr., president and CEO of Associated Grocers, Inc., Baton Rouge, LA; Alec C. Covington, president and CEO of Nash Finch Company, Minneapolis, MN; William J. Coyne, president and CEO of Raley’s Family of Fine Stores, West Sacramento, CA; William E. Crenshaw, president of Publix Super Markets, Inc., Lakeland, FL; Charles L. D’Amour, president and chief operating officer of Big Y Foods, Inc., Springfield, MA; David B. Dillon, chairman and CEO of The Kroger Co., Cincinnati, OH; Ron Edenfield, president and CEO of Wayfield Foods, Inc., Atlanta, GA; Neil M. Golub, president and CEO of Price Chopper Supermarkets, Schenectady, NY; Dale C. Henley, president and CEO of Haggen, Inc., Bellingham, WA; Ronald C. Hodge, president and CEO of Hannaford Bros. Co., Scarborough, ME; Peter H. H. Hung, chairman of Hop Hing Group of Companies, Hong Kong; Louis Katopodis, president and CEO of Fiesta Mart, Inc., Houston, TX; Ángel Losada, chairman and CEO of Grupo Gigante, S.A. de C.V., Mexico City, Mexico; Brandt C. Louie, president and COO of H.Y. Louie Co. Limited, and chairman and CEO of London Drugs Limited, Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada; John Lucot, executive vice president and COO of Giant Eagle, Inc., Pittsburgh, PA; Russell T. "Tres" Lund III, chairman and CEO of Lund Food Holdings, Inc., Edina, MN; Bill MacAloney, chairman and CEO of Jax Markets, Anaheim, CA; Tokutaro Masui, president and CEO of Kinokuniya Co., Ltd., Tokyo, Japan; Bill McEwan, president and CEO of Sobeys Inc., Stellarton, Nova Scotia, Canada; J. Christopher Michael, president and CEO of Associated Wholesalers, Inc. (AWI), Robesonia, PA; A.C. "Anders" Moberg, president and CEO of Royal Ahold, Amsterdam, The Netherlands; Michael S. Needler, chairman, president and CEO of Fresh Encounter, Inc., Findlay, OH; Mike Provenzano, CEO and president of Pro’s Ranch Markets, Ontario, CA; Senator Feargal Quinn, president of Superquinn, Dublin, Ireland; Pat Raybould, president of B&R Stores, Inc., Lincoln, NE; Richard L. Riesbeck, president and CEO of Riesbeck Food Markets, Inc., St. Clairsville, OH; Dan Sanders, CEO of United Supermarkets, Ltd., Lubbock, TX; Scott C. Schnuck, chairman and CEO of Schnuck Markets, Inc., St. Louis, MO; Joey Eldon Scolari, president and CEO of Scolari’s Food and Drug Company, Sparks, NV; Craig Sturken, chairman, president and CEO of Spartan Stores, Inc., Grand Rapids, MI; Colleen J. Wegman, president of Wegmans Food Markets, Inc., Rochester, NY; and Lauri Youngquist, president and COO of Knowlan’s Super Markets, Inc., St. Paul, MN.

Elected as FMI vice chairs were Richard "Ric" N. Jurgens, chairman, CEO and president of Hy-Vee, Inc., West Des Moines, IA; Fred Morganthall, president of Harris Teeter, Inc., Matthews, NC; Gary Phillips, president and CEO of Associated Wholesale Grocers, Inc. (AWG), Kansas City, KS; and Norman S. Rich, president and CEO of Weis Markets Inc., Sunbury, PA.

Steven C. Smith, president and CEO of K-VA-T Food Stores, Inc., Abingdon, VA, was elected chair of the FMI Board; and Jeffrey Noddle, chairman and CEO of SUPERVALU INC., Minneapolis, MN, is the immediate past chair.


Karen Brown

Senior Vice President

(202) 220-0650