ARLINGTON, VA – MAY 7, 2014 – The Food Marketing Institute (FMI) announced today FMI’s 15th-annual Store Manager Award finalists. Four grand prize winners will be selected from among the 10 finalists on Wednesday, June 11 during FMI Connect, the new annual FMI Show, in Chicago. 

The Store Manager Award finalists are recognized for their work to achieve positive sales growth and customer satisfaction in their stores during the past year. Nominations were judged on the following criteria:

  • Leading, mentoring and motivating associates;
  • Communicating company goals and store milestones to associates;
  • Executing innovative in-store programs and/or special events that improve overall customer service and community relations; and
  • Improving the financial performance of the store.
One grand prize winner will be chosen from each of the four categories:

Category A (1 – 49 Stores)

  • Larry Hack, Martin’s Super Markets #16 in Granger, Indiana
  • Jeffery Iwamuro, Potash Markets on Clark Street in Chicago, Illinois
  • David Tutorow, Martin’s Super Markets # 17in Elkhart, Indiana

Category B (50 – 199 Stores)

  • Kate Allred, Lowes Foods #161 in Clemmons, North Carolina
  • Chris Turner, Brookshire Grocery Company in Ruston, Louisiana
  • John Wild, Family Fresh Market - SpartanNash in River Falls, Wisconsin
Category C (Over 200 Stores)

  • Randy Kruse, Ames No. 2 Hy-Vee, Inc. in Ames Iowa
  • Doug Malenoski, King Soopers, a division of The Kroger Co. in Littleton Colorado
  • Ray Waldrop, BI-LO in Rock Hill, South Carolina

Category D (International retailers – companies operating outside North America):

  • George Katsifolis, Alfa Beta Kalamata 3, a company of Delhaize Group in Kalamata, Greece

Each finalist will receive two complimentary registrations for FMI Connect and three nights of hotel accommodations in Chicago. The four grand prize winners will each receive a $1,000 prize and a crystal award. 

The FMI Store Manager Awards presentation is scheduled for Wednesday, June 11, 3:00 – 4:30 pm in the Grand Ballroom at McCormick Place in Chicago, IL. The awards will be presented during the last 30 minutes of the Culture Rules: Putting People First and Building a First-Class Team session.

View finalist profiles and photo gallery here.