DALLAS, TX — May 12, 2011 — The Food Marketing Institute (FMI) announced the election of the board chairman and five board vice chairmen at its board meeting today.

Fred Morganthall, president of Harris Teeter, Inc., Matthews, NC, was elected chairman of the FMI Board. He previously served as vice chairman of the industry relations committee from 2007 to 2009 and as a member of the executive committee.

Morganthall has been with Harris Teeter since 1986 and served in many positions including executive vice president and senior vice president of operations before being named president in 1997. Prior to joining Harris Teeter he was manager of grocery, frozen and dairy purchasing for Spartan Stores in Grand Rapids, MI. He was also a buyer for Viking Foods and a sales representative for Proctor & Gamble.

Ric Jurgens, chairman and CEO of Hy-Vee, Inc., West Des Moines, IA, is the immediate past chairman of the FMI board.

Five new vice chairmen of the board were also announced. Rob Bartels, president and CEO of Martin’s Super Markets, Inc., in South Bend, IN will serve as chairman of the public affairs committee. W. Henry Johnson, president, W. Lee Flowers & Co., Inc., in Lake City, SC will serve as chairman of the finance committee. Scott Schnuck, chairman and CEO of Schnuck Markets, Inc., in St. Louis, MO will serve as chairman of industry relations committee. Russell “Tres” Lund III, chairman and CEO, Lund Food Holdings, Inc., in Edina, MN will serve as chairman of the member services committee. Al Plamann, president and CEO, Unified Grocers, Inc., in Commerce, CA will serve as vice chairman of the wholesalers-independents committee.