Nine Finalists Vie to Be Named One of Three Grand Prize Winners

ARLINGTON, VA — April 16, 2008 — The Food Marketing Institute (FMI) announced today the finalists in the 2008 Store Manager Awards competition. Three grand prize winners will be named at the FMI Show plus MARKETECHNICS® on Monday, May 5, 2008, at the Mandalay Bay Convention Center in Las Vegas, NV.

     “Successful supermarkets are led by store managers who are committed to customer satisfaction and improving the communities they serve,” said Tim Hammonds, FMI president and CEO. “We are very proud to recognize all of the finalists of the Store Manager Awards for demonstrating outstanding customer service, operational excellence and innovative community service.”     

The contest finalists, stores and locations:











Store Manager Store or Company NameStore Location
Mark HalvorsonCub FoodsSt. Paul, MN
Jeffery IwamuroPotash Bros. MarketChicago, IL
Dale KahnBI-LO, LLCCleveland, TN
Bob KeesSissonville FoodlandSissonville, WV
Ramiro MarquezBashas'San Luis, AZ
Cheryl RondenelliHannaford Bros. Co. Clinton, NY
Mitch StreitHy-Vee, Inc.Columbus, NE
Ralph ToweryMarketPlace FoodsMinot, ND
Janice YergeauHannaford Bros. Co.Hooksett, NH

     Supervisors or their associates submitted stories about their store manager that demonstrated how the manager promoted sales growth and customer satisfaction. Entries were judged on originality and creativity, and the person’s impact on growth, customer satisfaction and community service.

     The entries are divided into three categories based on company size: retailers with 1-49 stores; retailers with 50-199 stores; and retailers with 200 or more stores.

     Store managers in the food, mass merchandise and convenience store industries are eligible to enter after one year of employment at the same store.

     All nine finalists, including the three grand prize winners, received two tickets to the FMI Show, three nights of hotel accommodations in Las Vegas and a certificate of achievement. The three grand prize winners will each receive a $1,000 check.

     The 2007 grand prize winners were Lewis F. “Bud” Kennedy, Green Hills Farms, Inc., Syracuse, NY; Kenneth Hall, Jr., Schnuck Markets, Inc., East St. Louis, IL; and Don Blair, BI-LO, LLC, Rock Hill, SC.