CHICAGO, IL — May 1, 2005 — Food Marketing Institute (FMI) announced the reelection of 21 directors and the election of six directors to the FMI Board of Directors. FMI also announced the election of a chair and four vice chairs to its Board.

Elected and reelected directors are Johnny Basha, vice chairman of Bashas’ Inc., Chandler, AZ; Carol Bitter, president and CEO of Friedman’s Supermarkets, Butler, PA; Brad Brookshire, president of Brookshire Grocery Company, Tyler, TX; Raymond Burgo, president and COO of Giant Eagle, Inc., Pittsburgh, PA; Richard Cohen, chairman and CEO of C&S Wholesale Grocers, Inc., Keene, NH; Joseph Colalillo, owner and president of Shop Rite of Hunterdon County, Flemington, NJ; Nicholas D’Agostino, Jr. chairman and CEO of D’Agostino Supermarkets, Larchmont, NY; Timothy Devanney, president of Highland Park Markets, Inc., Manchester, CT; Kevin P. Doris, president and CEO of Gerland’s Food Fair, Inc., Houston, TX; John T. Fujieki, chairman and CEO of Star Markets, Ltd., Honolulu, HI; Leonard Harris, Jr., president and owner of Chatham Food Center, Inc., Chicago, IL; Larry Johnston, chairman, CEO and president of Albertsons, Inc., Boise, ID; Richard (Ric) Jurgens, CEO and president of Hy-Vee, Inc., West Des Moines, IA; Darioush Khaledi, chairman and CEO of K.V. Mart Co., Carson, CA; Peter L. Lynch, president and CEO of Winn-Dixie Stores, Inc., Jacksonville, FL; Ron Marshall, CEO of Nash Finch Company, Minneapolis, MN; Richard H. Niemann, Sr., chairman of Niemann Foods, Inc., Quincy, IL; Bruce T. Peterson, senior vice president and general merchandise manager of perishables for Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., Bentonville, AR; Gonzalo Restrepo, president of Almacenes Exito S.A., Medellín, Colombia; Arlie Rodhe, owner and chairman of Rodhe’s Market, Inc., Millersburg, OH; Larry Rothwell, owner and CEO of Mary Lawrence Corp., Pennington, NJ; Dave Skogen, owner and president of Skogen’s Festival Foods, Onalaska, WI; Marc E. Smith, president and CEO of The Stop & Shop Supermarket Company, Quincy, MA, and Giant Food LLC, Landover, MD; Steven C. Smith, president and CEO, K-VA-T Food Stores, Inc., Abingdon, VA; Rüdiger Strein, president of OHG Fegro/Selgros, Germany; Steve van der Leest, president of the Overwaitea Food Group, Vancouver, British Columbia; and Michael T. Williams, owner and CEO of Williams’ Piggly Wiggly, Memphis, TN.

Appointed to the Board by the FMI chair are Mike Provenzano, president and CEO of Pro & Sons Ranch Markets, Ontario, CA; and Richard Redner, president, chairman and CEO of Redner’s Warehouse Markets, Inc., Reading, PA.

Elected as FMI vice chairs are Pierre-Olivier Beckers, president and CEO of Delhaize Group, Belgium; William “Ed” Crenshaw, president of Publix Super Markets, Inc., Lakeland, FL; Russell T. Lund III (Tres), president and CEO of Lund Food Holdings, Inc., Edina, MN; and Bill McEwan, president and CEO of Sobeys Inc., Stellarton, Nova Scotia.
Jeffrey Noddle, chairman, president and CEO of SUPERVALU INC., Minneapolis, MN, was elected chair of the FMI Board; and Liz Minyard, vice chairman of Minyard Food Stores, Inc., Dallas, TX, is the immediate past chair.