Sidney R. Rabb Award Recipients

Rabb Award
For excellence in serving the consumer, the community and the industry. As a long-time industry leader and chief executive of The Stop and Shop Supermarket Company, Mr. Rabb was a role model for statesmanship and community service, recognizing the industry's higher purpose in serving society.

1977 Irving W. Rabb, The Stop & Shop Supermarket Company
1978 Robert B. Cullum, Cullum Companies, Inc.
George W. Jenkins, Publix Super Markets, Inc.
Edward J. Schnuck, Schnuck Markets, Inc.
1979 Joseph B. Danzansky, Giant Food Inc.

1980 Jack J. Crocker, SUPERVALU INC.
1981 Robert B. Wegman, Wegmans Food Markets, Inc.
1982 Louis Fox, Associated Wholesale Grocers, Inc.
1983 Donald O. Schnuck, Schnuck Markets, Inc.
1984 Kenneth O. Olsen, The Vons Companies, Inc.
1985 Frederik G. H. Meijer, Meijer, Inc.
1986 Ben Schwartz, Unified Grocers
1987 Byron Allumbaugh, Ralphs Grocery Company
1988 Glenn J. Queen, Tradewell Supermarkets
1989 Albert Heijn, Royal Ahold

1990 James L. Moody, Jr., Hannaford Bros. Co.
1991 Lyle Everingham, The Kroger Co.
1992 Allen I. Bildner, Kings Super Markets, Inc.
1993 Avram J. Goldberg, The Stop & Shop Supermarket Company
Carol R. Goldberg, The Stop & Shop Supermarket Company
1994 E. Dean Werries, Fleming Cos.
1995 David B. Jenkins, Shaw's Supermarkets, Inc.
1996 Mark C. Hollis, Publix Super Markets, Inc.
1997 Richard J. Currie, Loblaw Companies Limited
1998 Roger E. Stangeland, The Vons Companies, Inc.
1999 Robert G. Tobin, The Stop & Shop Supermarket Company

2000 Robert E. Bartels, Martin's Super Markets, Inc.
2001 Earl D. Holton, Meijer, Inc.
2002 Michael W. Wright, SUPERVALU INC.
2003 Thomas S. Haggai, IGA (Independent Grocers Alliance)
2004 Danny Wegman, Wegmans Food Markets, Inc.
2005 Jack H. Brown, Stater Brothers Markets
William J. Grize, The Stop & Shop Supermarket Company
2006 Ronald D. Pearson, Hy-Vee, Inc.
2007 Craig D. Schnuck, Schnuck Markets, Inc.
2008 Liz Minyard, Minyard Food Stores, Inc.
2009 Richard H. Niemann, Sr., Niemann Foods, Inc.

2010 Jeffrey Noddle, SUPERVALU INC.
2011 Fred Ball, Balls Food Stores
2012 Steven Smith, K-VA-T Food Stores, Inc.
2013 Ric Jurgens, Hy-Vee, Inc.
2014 Neil Golub, Price Chopper Supermarkets
2015 David B. Dillon, The Kroger Co.
2016 Fred Morganthall, The Kroger Co.
2017 Ed Crenshaw, Publix Super Markets Inc.
2018 Jerry Garland, Associated Wholesale Grocers, Inc.
2019 Randy Edeker, Hy-Vee, Inc.

2020 Kevin Davis, Bristol Farms
2022 Norman Mayne, Dorothy Lane Markets, Inc.

2023 Joe Sheridan, Wakefern Food Corp.
2024 Brad Brookshire, Brookshire Grocery Company