Esther Peterson Consumer Service Award Recipients

Esther Peterson plaque
For a lifetime of vision, integrity and caring sensitivity to the needs of retail food customers. Ms. Peterson served as special assistant for consumer affairs under U.S. Presidents Johnson and Carter and pioneered the role for the food industry as vice president for consumer affairs at Giant Food Inc.

1987 Dr. Jean Mayer, Tufts University, Harvard School of Public Health
1988 Dr. Sanford Miller, FDA Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition
1989 Israel Cohen, Giant Food Inc.

1990 T George Harris, Psychology Today
1991 Dr. C. Everett Koop, Surgeon General of the United States
1992 Dr. Michael F. Jacobson, Center for Science in the Public Interest
1993 Herbert J. Baum, Campbell Soup Company, North and South America
1994 Alexander Grant, Associate FDA Commissioner for Consumer Affairs
1995 Karen Johnson, Borden, Inc.
1996 Carol D. Scroggins, Fleming Cos.
1997 Elizabeth Dole, American Red Cross

2000 Mary Ellen Burris, Wegmans Food Markets, Inc.
2005 Odonna Mathews, Giant Food Inc.

2011 Susan T. Mayo, Retired, Farm Fresh
2014 Joanie Taylor, Schnuck Markets, Inc.
2015 Cheryl Macik, Wakefern Food Corporation
2016 Maureen Murphy, Price Chopper Supermarkets / Market 32
2017 Michael R. Taylor, former Deputy Commissioner for Foods, U.S. Food and Drug Administration
2018 Andrea Gold, United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), Food and Nutrition Service (FNS)
2019 Rep. Jim McGovern (D-MA), Chairman of the U.S. House of Representatives Rules Committee 
2020 Natalie Menza-Crowe, RD, MS, Wakefern Food Corp.

2021 All Members of The Food Industry
2022 Jonathan Mayes, Albertsons Companies
2023 Elizabeth Chace-Marino, Ahold Delhaize USA, Inc., and Gordon Reid, Stop & Shop
2024 Dagmar Farr, FMI
2024 Donna Tweeten, Hy-Vee, Inc.