PHOENIX, AZ – FMI -The Food Industry Association today announces its 2020 Board of Directors, reflecting the business of food, and related grocery products – wherever they are bought, sold or produced. FMI introduced six product suppliers to its board and ushered in a new term chairman, Randy Edeker, chairman, president and CEO of Hy-Vee, Inc., this weekend at the FMI Midwinter Executive Conference.

FMI President and CEO Leslie Sarasin said, “FMI views the marketplace – in its many manifestations - as the place where the food industry fulfills its mission of feeding and enriching society. We embrace the full breadth of the food industry, particularly as companies become more interconnected and vertically integrated up and down the supply chain.”

She continued, “I am especially grateful to our immediate past chairman, Joe Sheridan, along with the entire FMI Executive Committee for their vital role in influencing our direction to activate and enact our 2019-approved strategic plan. Now, under Randy Edeker’s leadership, we will lead with a renewed focus in this expanded food marketplace.”

New Officers (2-year term)
  • Chairman, Randy Edeker, Hy-Vee, Inc., West Des Moines, IA
  • President and CEO, Leslie Sarasin, FMI, Arlington, VA
  • Immediate Past Chairman, Joseph Sheridan, Wakefern Food Corporation, Keasbey, NJ
  • Vice Chairman, Finance: Brian George, Alex Lee, Inc., Hickory, NC
  • Vice Chairman, Communications: Jerry Golub, Price Chopper Supermarkets, Schenectady, NY
  • Vice Chairman, Industry Relations: Kevin Holt, Delhaize America, Salisbury, NC
  • Vice Chairman, Public Affairs: Laura Karet, Giant Eagle, Inc., Pittsburgh, PA
  • Vice Chairman, Food Safety: Susan Morris, Albertsons Companies, Boise, ID
  • Vice Chairman, Member Services: Michael Needler, Jr., Fresh Encounter, Inc., Findlay, OH
  • Vice Chairman, Product Supplier: Steve Presley, Nestlé USA, Inc., Arlington, VA
  • Vice Chairman, Wholesaler: Steve Spinner, United Natural Foods, Inc., Providence, RI
  • Vice Chairman, Independent Operators: Lauri Youngquist, Knowlan's Super Markets, Inc., St. Paul, MN
Newest Product Supplier Members
  • Mary Barnard, Mondelez International, East Hanover, NJ
  • Steven Oakland, TreeHouse Foods, Inc., Oak Brook, IL
  • Michael Potthoff, Anheuser-Busch Companies, LLC, St. Louis, MO
  • Steven Williams, PepsiCo, Inc., Plano, TX
New Chairman’s Appointees (2-year term)
  • Tim Figge, Hussmann Corporation, Bridgeton, MO
  • Anthony Hucker, Southeastern Grocers, LLC, Jacksonville, FL
  • Kenneth McGrath, Save-A-Lot, Ltd., Earth City, MO
  • Lori Mitchell-Keller, SAP America, Inc., Newtown Square, PA
  • John Ross, IGA, Inc., Chicago,IL
  • Randy Skoda, Topco Associates LLC, Elk Grove Village, IL
  • Tobias Wasmuht, SPAR International, Amsterdam, Netherlands

The purpose of the FMI Board is to promote and carry out the objectives and purposes of FMI; to represent the total and varied membership of FMI; to establish major policies for FMI; to demonstrate a model of an active, participative and sharing membership; to appoint the president; and to provide industry leadership.

A full member listing of FMI’s leadership can be found at

To review a microsite and video summarizing FMI 2019 accomplishments, visit