Scholarship Recipients

2017 Award Winners

2017 Scholarship Recipients

Top left to right:

Cameron Bardsley, Virginia Tech University
Kristie Grzywinski, Senior Technical Manager, SQFI (scholarship administrator)
Ilan Arvelo-Yagua, Texas Tech University
Emily Griep, Cornell University
Sarah Bock, The University of Georgia
Diego Casas, Texas Tech University
Cole Perkins, Texas Tech University

Bottom row left to right:

Robyn Miranda, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Sabra Billups, Oklahoma State University
Kristen Saniga, North Carolina State University
Jennifer Norka, Purdue University

2016 Award Winners

Scholarship Winners

Gabriela Arteaga Arredondo, Texas Tech University
Hannah Beuse,  Iowa State University
Jose Brandao Delgado, Louisiana State University
Madhumeeta Dutta, North Carolina State
Anna Sophia Harrand, Cornell University
Brenda Inestroza, Texas Tech University
Emily Mason, McGill University
Pedro Menchik, Cornell University
Katelyn A. Ortega,  Texas Tech University (2015 Scholarship Recipient)
Deepak Kumar Duraivelu Rajmohan, Oklahoma State University
Libia Ortiz Tellez, ITESM Monterrey Institute of Technology


2015 Award Winners


FMI Foundation 2015 Scholarship Winners

John Fox, Iowa State University
Jabari Hawkins, University of Maryland Eastern Shore
Raghavendra Kakarala, Oklahoma State
Lisa Lafountain, North Carolina State University
Robson Machado, Pennsylvania State University
Katelyn Ortega, Texas Tech University
Abigail Snyder, Cornell University
Weber Stibolt, University of Delaware
Amanda Wilder, Kansas State University
Praveen Yerramsetti, Oklahoma State

2014 Award Winners


Winners Pictures

Rebecca Rathjen, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, M.S. Food Science and Technology 
Zongyu Zhang, Iowa State University, Ph.D. Food Science and Technology
Avery Becker, Cornell University, B.S. Food Science
Sarah Beno, Cornell University, Ph.D. Food Science
Antoinette BoYee de Senna, California Polytechnic State University, M.S. Agriculture
Yinzhi Qu, University of Maryland, College Park, B.S. Food Science
Byron Chaves, Texas Tech University, Ph.D. Animal Science (Food Safety)
Khadija Nafi, California Polytechnic State University, B.S. Food Science
Patrick Spanninger, University of Delaware, Ph.D. Animal and Food Science
Elizabeth Stone, Kansas State University, B.S. Food Science

2013 Award Winners


Susan R. Hammons, Purdue University, Department of Food Science: The FMI Foundation recognized Ms. Hammons’ for her ongoing, graduate-level work to address the challenges of Listeria monocytogenes in retail delis. Hammons expressed a passion for creating food safety training programs for retail personnel and auditors.

Kizmik B. McPherson, University of Georgia, Department of Food Science: Ms. McPherson plans to continue a graduate-level degree in food safety and microbiology in order to support her interest in food safety regulation.

Liziane S. da Rocha, Wayne State University, Detroit, Department of Nutrition and Food Science: Ms. da Rocha expressed her desire to become a food safety auditor and improve systems that ultimately benefit the consumer.