Feed Your Family's Mental Health Digital Seminar

Feed Your Family’s Mental Health

Thursday, August 18, 2022
(2:00 pm EST / 1:00 pm CST / 12:00 PM MST/ 11:00 AM PST)

Webinar Description: 

It is widely understood that eating a nutritious diet is positively correlated with optimal physical health. Increasingly, science also is showing that a healthy diet is linked to mental health. In fact, the impact that food has on mood and other aspects of mental health is being researched, and opportunities for food to be used as clinical interventions for patients who suffer from depression and anxiety are being further explored. 

It’s not just the foods we eat that impact our mental and physical health; it’s also the company we keep when eating. Research shows that family meals, however you define family, are associated with better overall individual nutritional intake, better weight management, and stronger social interactions.   

Nutritional psychiatry is a rapidly growing field that explores the relationship between diet and mental health.  Dr. Drew Ramsey, a psychiatrist, leading proponent of Nutritional Psychiatry and author of Eat To Beat Depression and Anxiety (HarperWave 2021) will share the crucial ways that nutrition can help boost mental health. His presentation will cover the key concepts that contribute to optimizing mental health and fitness including: the nutrients associated with lowering depression and anxiety and where to find them; the role of inflammation; the microbiome; and the effects of increasing family meals. 

1 CEU has been applied for from the Commission on Dietetic Registration, the credentialing agency for the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

Speakers:


Drew Ramsey, M.D.
Assistant Clinical Professor of Psychiatry
Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons

Dr. Drew Ramsey is an assistant clinical professor of psychiatry at Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons. He founded the Brain Food Clinic in New York City, offering treatment and consultation for depression, anxiety and emotional wellness concerns. The clinic incorporates evidence-based nutrition and integrative psychiatry treatments with psychotherapy, coaching, and responsible medication management. Using the latest in brain science, nutrition and mental health research, and an array of delicious food, the clinic helps people improve their mental health and mental fitness. His team offered the first Nutritional Psychiatry Clinician Training helping hundreds of mental health clinicians learn the evidence and clinical methods to effectively use nutrition. 

 

Resources:

Access our easy-to-share infographics from our partnership with the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI).

Get inspired and customize your campaign using the Family Meals toolkits

 

image

 

FMI Webinars