Card Transaction Fees: How are They Changing and What Can You do About It?

Card Transaction Fees: How are They Changing and What Can You do About It?

Thursday, March 18, 2021
(2:00 pm EST / 1:00 pm CST / 12:00 PM MST/ 11:00 AM PST)

Webinar Description: 

One of the grocery industry’s largest cost items – card swipe/interchange fees set by Visa and Mastercard – are undergoing significant change for the first time in a decade. While some fees were amended last year; there are sweeping fundamental changes set for April 2021 – so the time is now for merchants to prepare a mitigation strategy. Unfortunately for many grocers, this means more complexity, less visibility, and potentially burdensome cost increases. 

This webinar is open to FMI retail members and association council members. 

Webinar Objectives:

In this webinar, CMSPI will summarize the impact these interchange fees changes will have on the grocery industry. In our session, we will cover:

  • A timeline of changes – July 2020 and April 2021
  • How the grocery industry will be impacted compared to other industries
  • Case studies that highlight how changing fees will impact your business
  • Information on how grocers can effectively mitigate the impact of cost increases

Speakers:

Callum Godwin
Chief Economist
CMSPI 

Josh Pynn
Payments Analyst
CMSPI

 

 

 

FMI Webinars