Gold Plate Awards

The FMI Foundation created the Gold Plate Award in 2013 to highlight the outstanding programs implemented by the retail food industry to encourage family meals.  Examples include healthy family meals, quick and easy family meals and recipes, cooking with kids, themed dinners, breakfast with the family, MyPlate meals, and much more. The award recognizes outstanding programs that food retailers and suppliers have implemented, to encourage families to share more meals, together at home, more often. 

Watch the Full 2022 Gold Plate Awards Celebration!

The first livestreamed broadcast of the Gold Plate Awards Celebration took place on Dec. 14, 2022, hosted by David Fikes, executive director, FMI Foundation, and Kelli Windsor, director of digital communications, FMI. Watch the full celebration by clicking the button below.

Watch the Full Celebration!

Gold Plate Award Rebranded Logo  2022FINAL

The 2023 Gold Plate Awards nomination process will open on Friday, September 15.

Nominations for awards will be accepted until 11:59 pm EST on Friday, October 13, 2023.

Gold Plate Awards Criteria

The Goal Plate Awards recognize retailer and supplier programs that creatively participated in National Family Meals MonthTM in September.

The FMI Foundation will be gathering information about National Family Meals Month participation by food retailers and suppliers throughout the food industry during the month of September. The Gold Plate Award winners will be decided based on each company’s participation. 

The following criteria will be used in the selection of Gold Plate Award winning programs:

  • Quality (breadth, depth, and extent of programming; consistency with NFMM; well thought out and executed; comprehensive measurement and reported reach)
  • Originality/Creativity
  • Ability to scale and replicate the program
  • Inclusion of National Family Meals Month
  • Corporate participation – level of company/store-wide involvement

Winning companies will be selected in five categories:

  • Category A: Small retailers (Companies with 1-49 stores)
  • Category B: Medium retailers (Companies with 50-199 stores)
  • Category C: Large retailers (Companies with 200+ stores)
  • Category D: Food Manufacturers/Suppliers
  • Category E: Community Collaborators (Formerly “Allies” and may include other family organizations and fellow  industry/trade organizations)