January 26 - 29, 2018 • National Doral Miami • Miami, FL

FMI Executive Leadership Awards

Presented annually, the FMI Executive Leadership Awards honor industry trailblazers, outstanding food retail professionals and contributions grocery stores make to the communities they serve. 

It was a great opportunity to honor some of our industry's most outstanding leaders: individuals like Ed Crenshaw, formerly of Publix Super Markets, who won the Robb Award; Joe Colalillo of ShopRite who received the Wegman Award; and the Hershey Co. veterans J.P. Bilbrey and Tom Joyce, who received the William H. Albers Award. View press releases »

  • Lasting Legacies in the Food Retail Industry

    Jan 19, 2017
    2017 FMI Executive Leadership AwardsFood retail is sometimes referred to as a noble enterprise because it incorporates into a business  entity the delicate art of serving communities by engaging people and providing them the food that nourishes their bodies and feeds their spirits.  Today’s food retail persona results from the cumulative efforts of many visionary leaders who have shaped the industry and sculpted it into the high calling that it is.  
    Full story

William H. Albers Award For Industry Relations

William H. Albers

For excellence in trading partner relationships and consumer and community service. A supermarket pioneer, Mr. Albers served as the first chairman of the Board of Directors of the Super Market Institute, one of FMI's predecessor associations, from 1937-1944. Learn more »

Sidney R. Rabb Award For Statemanship

Sidney R. Rabb

For excellence in serving the consumer, the community and the industry. As a long-time industry leader and chief executive of The Stop and Shop Supermarket Company, Mr. Rabb was a role model for statesmanship and community service, recognizing the industry's higher purpose in serving society. Learn more »

Robert B. Wegman For Entrepreneurial Excellence


Robert B. Wegman

Celebrates the food retailer or wholesaler responsible for creating exceptional retail innovations. The award is presented to the food retailer - whether overseeing multiple stores or servicing as an independent operator - who is exercising entrepreneurial leadership in the design of retail strategies and imaginative merchandising. Learn more »